Beach volleyball gold for Trinidad and TobagoTrinidad & Tobago won the Second Round of the Women’s NORCECA Continental Cup Inter Zonal CAZOVA/ECVA Olympic Qualifier claiming the gold medal over Barbados by 3-1 at Ocho Rios Bay in Jamaica.


Dyana Dyette with partner Malika Davidson, Trinidad and Tobago’s A team pair capped both matches against Barbados. They first smoothly beat Sharon Bovell/Anthazia Mason of Barbados-B by 2-0 (21-10, 21-14) and then managed to control the actions over Shari Matthews/Anicia Wood of Barbados-A  by 2-0 (21-17, 21-12).


Dayana and Malika finished their series first and had to wait for Apphia Glasgow and La Teisha Joseph of Trinidad-B to celebrate three intense days of competition. Apphia and La Teisha Joseph, who despite losing to Shari Matthews/Anicia Wood, stood up to Sharon Bovell/Anthazia Mason by 2-0 (21-19, 21-16) to crown Trinidad & Tobago champions.


Ayana, after winning the gold expressed her joy saying “winning was my goal coming here, because I wasn’t able to compete in the first round. I am so happy to have accomplished it and that our both teams were able to play well”. Speaking about her teammate Malika, she said “we had a game plan and to remain calm, using our strength to score”.


She also added that Trinidad & Tobago weren’t settling for less than gold and she praised the Jamaican Volleyball Association for organizing the tournament.


Malika also had something to say “We worked very hard for this; I believe it will hit me later on, I am so excited; both teams came to do our best and our best is gold; it’s surreal”.


Jamaica finished with the bronze medal following their victory over French St. Martin by 3-0. To reach the bronze medal match they defeated Cayman Islands 3-1


The Third Round Olympic qualifier of the NORCECA Women’s Continental Cup will be in May at El Salvador, featuring the top eight ranked CAZOVA/ECVA teams and the top four Central American teams competing for six spots in the Fourth Round in Acapulco.


Final Positions: 1. Trinidad & Tobago; 2. Barbados 3. Jamaica; 4. French St. Martin; 5. Suriname; 6. Cayman Islands; 7. U.S. Virgin Islands; 8. St. Lucia;  9. St. Kitts & Nevis; 10. Antigua & Barbuda; 11. Grenada and Dominica