Interact with our

Live Studio




Cabinet reshuffle… Marlene McDonald back inside, Sport and Tourism Ministries untouched

Information courtesy the Office of the Prime Minister:

Prime Minister Dr. The Honourable Keith Rowley has informed His Excellency Anthony Thomas Aquinas Carmona, in accordance to Section 3(9) and 79(1) of the Constitution of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago to revoke the assignment of Mr. Fitzgerald Hinds as Minister of Public Utilities and reassign him as Minister in the Ministry of the Attorney General and Legal Affairs to assist the Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs in the performance of such duties as he may specify.
Minister Hinds is a former member and trainer in the police service. Minister Hinds is an experienced attorney at law with a master’s degree in constitutional law and will remain a member of the Cabinet.

Also, His Excellency was advised to appoint Ms. Marlene McDonald as Minister of Public Utilities and allocate to Ms. McDonald the responsibilities for the business of the Government, including the administration of the Departments as specified in the Schedule in accordance with Sections 3(9) and 79(1) of the Constitution.

Prime Minister Rowley also advised His Excellency, in accordance with Section 43(2)(e) and 3(9) to revoke the appointment of Ms. Ayanna Leeba Lewis as a Senator and in accordance with Section 40(2)(a), and 79(1) to appoint Ms. Allyson West as Senator and Minister in the Ministry of Finance, to assist the Minister of Finance in the performance of such duties as he may specify.

Additionally, to appoint Ms. Nicole Olivierre as Parliamentary Secretary in the Ministry of Energy and Energy Industries in accordance with Section 82(1) of the country’s Constitution. Ms. Olivierre is a respected professional in the energy industry and holds a Bachelor of Science in Analytical Chemistry and Computer Science as well as a Master of Philosophy in Chemistry.

These changes take effect from Thursday June 29, 2017 and the swearing in ceremony is expected to take place on Friday 30 June from 1:30 pm at President’s House, St Anns.