Interact with our

Live Studio




Parliament’s Privileges Committee rule on Opposition Leader today…


Keith RowleyOpposition Leader, Dr. Keith Rowley, will know his fate when Parliament’s Privileges Committee hands in its decision today.

Dr. Rowley was brought before the Privileges Committee after the defeat of his motion of  no confidence in Prime Minister,Kamla Persad-Bissessar, and the Peoples Partnership government.Parliament new temp one

During that debate Dr. Rowley revealed several emails which alleged criminal acts by key Government Ministers.

The Prime Minister, who denied the allegation, had moved a motion of privilege, saying Dr. Rowley abused the privilege of Parliament by misleading the House, and that he was reckless and brought the House into ridicule and disrepute.

In an earlier interview Dr. Rowley said that he was ready for any decision taken by the committee.

The Privileges Committee comprises Speaker of the House Wade Mark, Government Chief Whip Dr Roodal Moonilal, Legal Affairs Minister Prakash Ramadhar, Education Minister Dr Tim Gopeesingh, Transport Minister Chandresh Sharma and Arima MP Rodger Samuel and three People’s National Movement MPs  Colm Imbert, Donna Cox and Paula Gopee-Scoon.