Chairman of Cricket West Indies Selectors Courtney Browne

Chairman of Cricket West Indies Selectors Courtney Browne has urged regional players to make their mark in the Regional Super50 in order to force their way into the West Indies squad.

The ten-team event bowls off in Barbados today and will also enjoy play in Antigua-Barbuda from tomorrow.

TT Red Force are the defending champions and have their first game on Friday in Antigua against Darren Sammy and the Windward Islands Volcanoes.

Browne said West Indies were expected to have a heavy One-Day International (ODI) schedule this year, and with preparations already in train for the 2019 World Cup, it was crucial that players took advantage of every opportunity in the January 24 to February 18 tournament.

Browne emphasized, however, that while it was important players performed, they needed to show consistency beyond the tournament.

“People just need to perform. That’s the most important [thing], and perform consistently,” said Browne, who replaced legendary former West Indies captain Clive Lloyd in the position last year.

“What we are trying to do is look at players over at least three seasons. One of the things that we are trying not to do is to pick players after just one season.

Browne noted that the Windies one-day side was at a young stage of their development, and singled out the unit which recently campaigned in the Tri-Nations Series in Zimbabwe.

He said the young players, who had made their mark on that tour, needed to reiterate that form in the Regional Super50.

Trinidad and Tobago Red Force

Trinidad and Tobago Red Force

Trinidad and Tobago Red Force are in Zone A alongside Leeward Islands Hurricanes, Windward Islands Volcanoes, West Indies Under-19s and English county side, Kent Spitfires.

Zone B comprises last year’s runners-up Barbados Pride, Jamaica Scorpions, Guyana Jaguars, Combined Campuses & Colleges Marooners and ICC Americas team.

Players must make themselves available for the tournament in order to be eligible for selection to the ODI format.