Interact with our

Live Studio




Richard Young is the new chairman of the Economic Development Board…

Business NewsRichard Young is the new chairman of the Economic Development Board (EDB).

Richard Young

Young, a former managing director of Scotiabank Trinidad and Tobago, met with Planning Minister Dr. Bhoe Tewarie and reporters for the first time yesterday, since receiving his instruments of appointment at the ministry’s offices at the Eric Williams Financial Complex, Port of Spain.

Minister Tewarie said that the board has been working quietly without proper infrastructural support.

The EDB and the Council for Competitiveness and Innovation (CCI), were two companies that were envisage in the People’s Partnership 2010 Manifesto, and now have a budget of 8 million dollars from the Ministry of Planning…

The EDB’s main functions will be to advise the government and develop strategies and policy for economic growth in the public and private sectors.

While the CCI monitors and devises plans to improve the country’s international competitive and international rankings at the practiced and industry level…

Richard Young EDB Board

New EDB Chairman Richard Young, centre, and New CCI Chairman Richard Lewis, left, speak with Planning Minister Dr Bhoe Tewarie.

Young said the board will seek to continue on the plans of the previous board headed by Dr Thackwray Driver, and implement projects working with various ministries to get them off the ground.

The members of the EDB include: Richard Young, chairman; Dr Marlene Attzs (deputy chairman); Ian de Souza; Gail Sooknarine; Kazim Boodoo; Bruce MacKenzie; Peter Mitchell; Zamanath Ali; Lara Quentrall-Thomas; Cindy Dookeran; Dr Junior Darsan.