T&T 4×100 sprint relay team

Trinidad and Tobago are fielding four teams to contest four of the five relay events at the first edition of the IAAF World Relays, which will be held on May 24th and 25th in Nassau, the capital of The Bahamas.

The National Association of Athletics Administrations of Trinidad and Tobago last night named double-gender teams to compete in the 4×100 and 4×400 relays and women’s teams only for the 4×200 and 4×800.

Keston Bledman, Richard Thompson, Marc Burns, Darrell Brown and Rondell Sorillo are the 4 by 100 sprint relay men while Michelle Lee Ahye heads the women’s sprint team of Kai Selvon, Kamaria Durant, Geronne Black, Aaliyah Telesford and Reyare Thomas.

The same women are also named for the 4 by 200 relay.

Lalonde Gordon is one of six for the men’s 4 by 400 event.

Renny Quow, Machel Cedenio, Jereem Richards, Jarrin Solomon and Zwede Hewitt complete the team.

The women named for both the 4 by 400 and 4 by 800 metres relays are Shawna Fermin, Alena Brooks, Domonique Williams, Romona Modeste, Jessica James and Magnolia Howell.

Dexter Voisin (manager), Gerard Franklyn (coach), Dr Anyl Gopeesingh (Doctor), Zephrinus Nicholas (Massage therapist) and Dr Verne Alleyne (Physiotherapist) are the accompanying team staff.

Some 90 men’s teams and 64 women’s teams representing 48 member federations will take part in Nassau in the 4x100m, 4x200m, 4x400m, 4x800m and 4 x 1500m.

The top eight teams in both the men’s and women’s 4x100m and 4x400m will automatically qualify for the 2015 IAAF World Championships in Beijing.

In addition, the top eight teams in each event will be awarded prize money with the gold medallists taking home no less than USD $50,000.

In the event that a team breaks a world record in Nassau, an additional bonus of USD $50,000 will be awarded.