TT men’s football team to start Caribbean Cup finals in Jamaica

by | Nov 5, 2014 | 1 comment

Caribbean Cup

Trinidad and Tobago men’s football team

Trinidad and Tobago men’s football team have Curacao as first opponents when the grand finals of the Caribbean Football Union (CFU) Men’s Caribbean Cup kicks off at the Montego Bay Sports Complex, in the city of Montego Bay, Jamaica, November 10 with a double header.


TT, expected to be led by Kenwyn Jones who plays for Cardiff City in English football, faces Curacao at 5:30 pm in the early game while defending champions Cuba encounters French Guiana in the feature game at 8:00pm.

The eight top teams qualified for this regional competition are Trinidad & Tobago, French Guiana, Curacao and Cuba in Pool A while in Pool B the teams are Antigua & Barbuda, Haiti, hosts Jamaica and Martinique.

At the end of the tournament the two top teams from each group will take automatic spots in the CONCACAF Gold Cup for 2015; and the fifth placed team will compete in a home and away playoff game against a fifth placed team from the Unión Centro Americana de Fútbol (UNCAF), the winner from this encounter also qualifying for the CONCACAF Gold Cup competition.

Six teams emerged from the keenly contested ‘Second Round’ which featured twelve teams divided into three Groups namely 7, 8 and 9.

These games were played in Trinidad & Tobago, Haiti and Guadeloupe respectively. Trinidad & Tobago topped Group 7 securely with maximum nine points while Antigua & Barbuda earned four points to take second place.

In Group 8, Haiti topped the group with five points, just one ahead of French Guiana who gained four points.

Martinique topped Group 9 with seven points and Curacao were next with four.

Meanwhile Trinidad and Tobago’s Under 20 Men’s Team will open the CONCACAF Final Round of Qualification against hosts Jamaica in Kingston on January 19th.

This was determined at the CONCACAF Draw in Montego Bay on Thursday which was attended by National Under 20 head coach Derek King.

T&T are in Group A along with  Jamaica, Aruba, Panama, the United States and Guatemala.  Group B includes Haiti, Canada, Mexico, Cuba, Honduras and El Salvador, in order of position drawn.

T&T won the Caribbean Championship with a convincing 3-0 victory over Haiti in the final at the Hasely Crawford Stadium in September.

The CONCACAF tournament will crown the Confederation champion and qualify four teams to the FIFA Under-20 World Cup carded for New Zealand next year.


The top team from each group after round-robin play advances to the World Cup, and the second and third place nations from each group advance to the final day knockout phase, with the chance to dispute one of the two play-in matches which will determine CONCACAF’s other two World Cup spots


1 Comment

  1. Sam

    Good job.