Interact with our

Live Studio




Voting underway in Chaguanas West…

EBCVoting is underway in Chaguanas West as constituents seek to elect a new Member of Parliament.

According to the Elections and Boundaries Commission, twenty-seven thousand and forty-five (27,045) eligible persons are registered to vote from 6 a.m when the polls open, to 6 p.m when it closes.

They will cast their ballots according to the polling divisions in which they live, at 51 polling stations accommodated in 14 venues.election3election1

The candidates contesting today’s Chaguanas West bye-election are former MP Jack Warner of the Independent Liberal party; Khadijah Ameen of the United National Congress (UNC); Avinash Singh of the People’s National Movement’s (PNM); Dr Kirk Meighoo of the Democratic National Assembly (DNA); and Oliver Norman of the National Coalition for Transformation (NCT).


Chief Elections Officer Ramesh Nanan explains that Ishmael Samad of the Party for Integrity and Morality in Politics (PIMP) has dropped out of the race but his name remains on the ballot paper.